Tetrahedron Letters No. 26, p 2376, 1979. Pergamon Press. Printed in Great Britain.

THE ROUSSEL PRIZE 1980

In view of the ever growing importance of steroids in therapeutic medicine, the late Mr J. C. Roussel, Chairman of the well known French pharmaceutical Company, created in 1968 an international Prize intended to stimulate further new research in this particular area.

The Prize is given every 2 years to a chemist or a biochemist whose work has been chosen as the most outstanding by an international Committee of distinguished scientists in the field.

The preceding Roussel Prizes were awarded:

in 1970, to Professor W. S. Johnson for his work on nonenzymatic biogenetic-like steroid synthesis;

in 1972, to Professor J. W. Cornforth for his work on enzymes of cholesterol biosynthesis;

in 1974, to Professors E. Kodicek and H. F. DeLuca for their work on metabolites and mechanism of action of cholecalciferol;

in 1976, to Professor E. E. Baulieu and E. V. Jensen for their work on hormone receptors;

in 1978, to Professor R. C. Breslow and G. Stork for their work of chemistry and synthesis in the steroid series.

The next Prize (\$ 20,000) which is scheduled for April 1980, will be concerned with outstanding work on Chemistry or Biochemistry of Steroids and other Squalenoids published before 30 September 1979.

The composition of the Award Committee for the year 1980 is as follows:

President: Sir Derek Barton

Members: Professors W. S. Johnson, F. Lynen, L. Martino, K. Nakaniski, G. Ourisson and I. V. Torgov

Secretary: J. Mathieu

Candidates for the Prize may be of any nationality and from any laboratory. They should be introduced by a person of high scientific standing and supported by two other referees.

Nominations should be submitted to the President or to the Secretary before 1 October 1979. Any supplementary information can be obtained from the Secretary.

Professor J. Mathieu Centre de Recherches Roussel Uclaf 93230 Romainville France